What Should I Expect For My First-Time DUI Offense In Maryland?
There are two separate consequences in Maryland when you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. First are license suspension consequences imposed by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) depending on your breath test refusal or results. Second are the criminal penalties imposed by a judge in the Maryland court system. Finally, if you are convicted of DUI or DWI when you go to court, you face additional license suspension/revocation consequences imposed by the MVA.
License Suspension Periods Based On The Breath Test
For breath test results over 0.08 but less than 0.15, 180 days; however, you are eligible for a restricted driver’s license allowing you to drive for employment, school, counseling and medical purposes.
For breath test results of 0.15 or more, 180 days; however, the only restricted license available is by using the ignition interlock device for one year.
For breath or blood test refusals, 270 days. The only restricted license available is by using the ignition interlock device for one year.
All suspensions start 45 days after your arrest, unless you request a hearing challenging the suspension. That hearing request must be mailed within 10 days of your arrest. (Please note that a hearing request is not always the best course of action)