About MVA License Suspension for DUI/DWI in Maryland

License Suspension in Maryland

License Suspension

(Noah’s Law, with increased penalties for drunk driving, became effective 10/1/2016.)

My license was confiscated by the police officer, what should I do?

If your license was taken away from you upon your arrest for DUI/DWI, you were most likely issued a “Temporary Driver’s License”. This white piece of paper authorizes you to continue driving for 45 days. After the 45th day, your license will be suspended, unless you timely request a hearing (10 days to guarantee the extension or 30 days to guarantee a hearing, but possibly not an extension of your temporary license*) and the MVA sends you a notice extending your temporary license. If you would like to continue driving to work, school, and/or alcohol education or treatment after the 45th day, you will need to speak with an attorney to determine whether or not you should request an administrative hearing to extend your driving privilege, as there are times when a hearing is not in your best interest, particularly when the driver refused the breath/blood test and in situations when the breath test result was 0.15 or higher or if it is the driver’s second offense within 5 years, in which case an ignition interlock device, discussed below, should be considered.

*The administrative hearing request (with payment) must be postmarked within 10 days of your arrest to ensure uninterrupted driving privileges until your hearing date. If the hearing request is postmarked more than 10 days after arrest the applicable suspension may begin to run if the hearing is scheduled more than 45 days after arrest. If the hearing request is postmarked more than 30 days after arrest, it is unlikely that you will get a hearing.*

If you do not want to drive around with the paper “Temporary Driver’s License”, you can obtain a DUPLICATE DRIVER’S LICENSE FROM THE MVA.

An experienced attorney can help you develop factual and legal defenses to the DUI/DWI charges and place the burden on the state prosecutors to prove their case against you beyond a reasonable doubt.  Find out how Ms. Arii can help you resolve your DUI, save your license, and secure your job and future without charge or obligation:  CLICK HERE TO CONTACT MS. ARII.

Contact Us Now for your Free Consultation




Disclaimer: This web site is designed for general information only and may not apply to your particular situation. Every case is different, and prior results do not guarantee future success.

The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. The receipt of unsolicited correspondence or information via the website does not create an attorney/client relationship and any information received will not be treated as confidential or protected information. Please do not send any confidential information or documents.


I have reviewed the Website Disclaimer.

How long will my license be suspended?

(Noah’s Law became effective 10/1/2016)

For breath test results over 0.08 but less than 0.15:

Effective Oct. 1, 2016:

1st Time= 180 Days (6 months)
2nd or More= 180 Days (6 months)

PRIOR to Oct. 1, 2016:

1st Time= 45 Days (1.5 months)
2nd or More= 90 Days (3 months)

If you submitted to the breath test and blew over 0.08 but less than 0.15, and you have not had a prior violation in the last 5 years, you may also be eligible for a restricted license that allows you to drive for alcohol treatment and/or for work, and for school or medical care for yourself and your immediate family member.  A letter from your employer documenting your need to retain your driving privileges is helpful as well as copies of your pay stubs. Also, documents supporting the fact that you are enrolled in and attend alcohol treatment is helpful.  You will not be eligible for restricted license if you do not request a timely hearing.  Alternatively, you can participate in the Ignition Interlock Program for 6 Months and drive anywhere.

If the offense involves a motor vehicle fatality, the suspension is 6 months for a first offense and 1 year for a 2nd or subsequent offense.

For breath test results of 0.15 or more:

Effective Oct. 1, 2016:

1st Time= 180 Days (6 months)
2nd or More= 270 Days (9 months)

PRIOR to Oct. 1, 2016:

1st Time= 90 Days (3 months)
2nd or More= 180 Days (6 months)

If you submitted to the breath test and blew 0.15 or above, the only restricted license available to you requires participation in the Ignition Interlock Program for one year.  (The back of your “Temporary Driver’s License” issued by the police officer will have information for installing the ignition interlock device.) If you need to drive a company or employer provided vehicle, contact Arii Law Firm to discuss the possibility of noninterlock work exemptions.

If the offense involves a motor vehicle fatality, the suspension is 1 year for a first offense and for a 2nd or subsequent offense, your license will be revoked.

For breath or blood test REFUSALS:

Effective Oct. 1, 2016:

1st Time= 270 Days (9 months)
2nd or More= 2 Years

PRIOR to Oct. 1, 2016:

1st Time= 120 Days (4 months)
2nd or More= 1 Year

If you REFUSED the breath or blood test (if the blood test was requested by an Drug Recognition Expert or other authorized or trained drug recognition examiner), the only restricted license available to you requires participation in the Ignition Interlock Program for one year.  (The back of your “Temporary Driver’s License” issued by the police officer will have information for installing the ignition interlock device.) If you need to drive a company or employer provided vehicle, contact Arii Law Firm to discuss the possibility of noninterlock work exemptions.

If a judge or jury finds beyond a reasonable doubt that you knowingly refused to take a breath test and if you are convicted under:

  1. Maryland Transportation Article 21-902, you are subject to an additional criminal penalty of two months in jail and/or $500; and
  2. Maryland Transportation Article 21-902 (b) or (c), the Court shall require you to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program for one year. (If you elected to participate in the Ignition Interlock Program prior to court, you will receive credit for any time previously served.)

Can I avoid suspension of my license?

If you request a hearing, the MVA, through documentary evidence (usually your driving record, pink form advising of your rights with respect to the breath test, and the breath test results) must prove to the administrative law judge the following elements:

1. There was reasonable grounds to believe that you were driving or attempting to drive while under the influence of alcohol.
2. There is evidence of the use of alcohol.
3. You were advised of your rights to submit or not submit to the breath test at the police station.
4. That you were requested to take the breath test.
5. You drove with 0.08 or above OR refused to take the test.

Contact Arii Law Firm to discuss whether the MVA can prove the above listed elements.

C. Sei-Hee AriiI have been defending DUI/DWI charges since 2001. I am a passionate DUI/DWI attorney committed to keeping abreast of DUI/DWI technology and changes in DUI/DWI law affecting my clients. For example, since 1981, law enforcement officers began using the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) Standardized Field Sobriety Test (SFST) at the roadside to help determine whether motorists who are suspected of DWI have blood alcohol concentrations greater than the legal limit. Law enforcement officers receive training enabling them to perform DWI detection and SFTS. To level the field in court, I received instruction similar to the police NHTSA/IACP Standardized Field Sobriety Test training using the most current training curriculum. In addition, I regularly attend DUI/DWI related courses, such as “Mastering Scientific Evidence in DWI/DUI Cases,” to further my DWI/DUI knowledge base. This commitment to DUI/DWI education enables me to be more effective at challenging the validity of Standardized Field Sobriety Tests and breath test devices and their reliability in court which ultimately benefits my clients. If you or someone you know have been arrested for a DUI/DWI please contact me, C. Sei-Hee Arii for a free consultation.

Client Testimonials

Your Case is in Good Hands

[Sei-Hee Arii] always responded to my request and gave competitive prices for her work. In the courtroom, she clearly had done her homework and won the case.

I can confidently say that Ms. Arii met or exceeded every high expectation that I had.

Miss Arii was very helpful with my court case, saving me astronomical amounts of money. She knew how to handle the situation with proficiency and great professionalism.

[Sei-Hee Arii] was very professional, very helpful, explained everything with detail, very patient and responded within a reasonable amount of time.

[Sei-Hee Arii] is worth every single penny and I would highly recommend her.

[Sei-Hee Arii’s] not all talk, this attorney takes action.

[Sei-Hee Arii] is knowledgeable, aggressive, timely, and responsive. I really appreciate hard work and dedication.

Sei-Hee Arii took care of things right from the start. I didn’t have to worry much about anything…

Sei-Hee is extremely competent and is willing to work with you.

[Sei-Hee Arii] showed that she cared not only professionally but she cared about my wife as a person…

Service Overall rating: ★★★★★ 4.9 based on 101 reviews
5 1
Read more testimonials.

Get the Best Representation & the Best Results

Over 15 Years of Experience Defending the Accused
Numerous Prestigious Awards
Highly Rated by Former Clients
Gives Personalized Attention to Each Unique Client
Affordable Attorney with a Proven Track Record